I’m splitting this up, and I don’t care if that’s against the rules!!  I have had two “first days” playing World of Warcraft.  I started in college because some of my friends played, and I joined an RP server because I wanted to role play.

Confession, I was a drama geek in high school.  We’re talking all four years of school, including going to competitions.  It was fun, and I missed it because the college commitment was too much for me.  This was going to be my creative outlet.

Like a lot of college students, I was flaky.  I joined an RP guild, I was fairly active, but come the end of the semester, I just sort of stopped playing.  Looking back too I was awful.  It took me forever to level, I had no idea what spells I should be using, so I just went with everything.  I remember actually saving money to buy a staff from a NPC vendor.  Yes, you read that right.  One of those generic staffs you can buy from the vendors but you never do?  I bought one, and I was so happy about it.

Fast forward a couple years, and I picked the game up again.  I had no idea what was happening in the game, just wanted to give it a whirl again.  It was BC times and I was leveling up.  Turns out I hit 70 a week before WoTLK.  I saw Kara once, even though I didn’t have the gear to be there at all.  That start went a little better for me.  I leveled faster, and joined a guild where I met people I still talk to today.  I was still a “bad” but not as much.

That start took me to where I am today.  I’ve learned a lot and certainly more than I ever knew I had to learn!

When did you start playing?

