My absolute favorite memory in this game to date was the first day our guild downed Arthas.  That grind was absolute murder.  We poured our hearts and souls out on just about every boss in that place.  I remember downing Putricide, and downing Sindragosa and the relief I felt when we did.  Nothing compared to downing Arthas.

Rewind back to the start of the expansion when I was a terrible player.  I totally had to relearn everything I though I knew about my class.  I was in a guild, but that guild ending up disintegrating into a pile of dust just after ICC was released.  I started my own guild, with a lot of the players from my previous guild.  We fought and fought with what little time was remaining.  I never really raided before and I wasn’t the only one in the group with that short of a resume.  We had to learn group coordination, and raid tactics 101 at an extremely fast pace.  I took and parsed combat logs like there was no tomorrow.  We yelled at each other, and cursed at bosses.

Arthas himself was an absolute beast.  I remember saying “spread for defile spread for defile” more times than I can count.  I remember wiping to defile more times than I can count.  I remember Valk’s just whisking away our main healer and not being able to do a damn thing about it.

Then I remember downing him.  I remember hitting that 10% and screaming “no one release!!!!!”  Everyone watched the cinematic in absolute silence.  I’m not ashamed to say, I actually shed a tear.

It was simultaneously the moment our guild arrived as a serious raiding guild, and I arrived as a serious raider.

Your favorite moments?

